Wool Covers Drying

I’ve got the wool covers done, they’re just drying!

Wool covers, drying

I do have to snicker a bit about the absurdity of drying them on the radiators in May. I dry wool on the radiators in the winter, because that makes sense. In the summer, I prefer to hang them to dry. But I was taking them out of the washer post-lanolizing at about 1 am, and it was pouring rain…so I opted for the radiators, even though it doesn’t really make much sense.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on May 30, 2008, in Products. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I see that you mention taking them out of the washer… are your wool covers machine washable?

  2. Um, not technically. When I restock, I make several dozen at a time, generally, and I lanolize them in the washer because doing so in the sink would take forever. However, I do wash my own wool covers in the washer – my washer has a hand wash setting and it doesn’t agitate more than about “swish, swish.” I’ve never had a problem with my wool covers on that setting. I have, at times, even tossed them in the dryer on Low, and that’s worked out pretty well, too.

    HOWEVER. Officially, our wool covers (like everyone else’s, and like fine woolens everywhere) are hand-wash.

Leave a Reply

