Family Movie Night: Little Mermaid

Yes, we got behind on these. The kids and I were in Iowa City one Wednesday night and so we didn’t have Movie Night that week. The next week, we watched Tomorrowland and I took zero pictures. Then the next week, we watched Howl’s Moving Castle and had awesome food, but I took zero pictures. But last week, we watched The Little Mermaid. And I took pictures.


We own no Little Mermaid things, but Genna generously provided us with these lovely decorations. Notice Ariel’s red drink. Genna accidentally got Ariel’s teeth with the red crayon, so she drew her a red drink to explain the red teeth. 🙂

I want to remind you that I’m Real Life Mom, not Pinterest Mom.

So for our Little Mermaid night, we of course ate – what else – fish sticks. 🙂 Because we’re evil. We were going to have stuffed pasta shells, but I was unmotivated and frankly, it involved buying a LOT of ingredients.

But fish sticks – yes, the processed ones – were on sale. (Usually I actually do make our fish sticks from actual fish but lazy + sale = I’m not sad we used the boxed ones. Also, the husband noted that making fish sticks always seems to put me in a bad mood. Evidently missing the generalized 5-6 pm “I’m tired and can’t deal with Crazy Hour” mood I have most days.)

Also clams and shrimp.

Sea Vegetable Salad – you could use actual sea veggies if you wanted, but we used land veggies and our imaginations.

Seaweed grapes – grapes on a skewer to look like long strands of seaweed.

Ocean Water for a drink – just water with a bit of blue food coloring.



Processed fish. YUMMY!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on April 20, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

