The Diaper Bag

I must start this post by noting that I’ve always traveled light, even with babies. I prefer to, if possible, stash extra supplies in a bag in the car and carry with me only the bare minimum, if anything. With Genna, I usually didn’t carry a diaper bag anywhere, unless we were planning to be there for several hours. We did diaper changes in the car.

With Teddy, well, we don’t travel light.

BUT the bag we carry is no bigger (yet) than the average diaper bag that moms of “regular” kids carry, and I thought I’d throw out a quick post about what’s in our bag.
diaper bag

My bag is just a backpack. Not a diaper bag.

I keep it organized with a series of wet bags. Four in all, five if you count the one intended for wet diapers. Why wet bags? Because they can be emptied and used to hold wet things if needed. They can work as an emergency barf bag in a pinch. They’re just more versatile than a plan fabric bag.

In the large compartment, I keep the four wet bags:

– One holds a change of clothes for Teddy and also a pair of undies for each of the kids.
– One holds everything we need to complete diaper changes. Diapers, covers, change pad, wipes, and wet bag. When we need to change a diaper, I can just pull out this bag.
– One holds feeding tube supplies and medicines. I have one of everything I need to complete a feed, including a small bottle of water and syringe to flush his tube as needed. I prefer to carry medicines in pre-filled syringes inside a reusable snack bag that tucks into this bag, as well.
– One holds emergency medical supplies. Alcohol wipes and heparin. Syringes with sterile saline. Two empty syringes of different sizes. Foley catheter. Some sterile gauze pads.

In the next compartment, I keep some books for the older kids, a few snacks, and my knitting.

In the front compartment, I keep my bag. It’s a tiny shoulder bag that holds my wallet. If I don’t need to take the whole bag in with me, I can just grab my bag, or just the wallet.

In the very front, I keep things like some gum and sunglasses.

Then we have a separate bag for the feeding pump and the tubing that goes with it. I hope to reach a point where we don’t need the pump during the day, which will lighten our load a bit. The tubing for the pump and his vented feed setup is just plain bulky.

That’s our diaper bag. I still anticipate being able to keep this bag in the car for the most part, but it’s got FAR more stuff in it than I’m accustomed to toting around with me.

What about you? What’s lurking in your diaper bag?

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am wondering why they did a feeding tube with him. I know that there definitely real reasons to have one, but this is an intervention which I am seeing more of and questioning the reason for. I work with the elderly and have seen rampant overuse with them. I have also come across a few children which I have questioned. My oldest was born with a cleft lip and palate (as was I) and when he was born I came across more than one person who thought a g-tube would be easiest…yeah-NO!

    Sounds like he is doing well though. Take the small wins as they come.

  2. Babies with renal failure (as well as adults) usually have poor appetites, as well as an overactive gag reflex. Teddy has never been a good eater – during his best nursing session, he took a half ounce. When we totaled up what he was eating on a daily basis, he was not taking in enough calories, even though I was stuffing milk into him at every opportunity. He had started to lose weight, as well, and his BUN and creatinine were getting pretty high – high enough that we were going ot have to start dialysis to bring them back down. I was on the fence, but after talking to several other kidney mamas, they all said they wished they hadn’t waited as long as they did for the feeding tube. Less than two weeks later, Teddy is doing SO much better. His BUN and creatinine are back down to acceptable ranges, and that ALONE makes the feeding tube worth it to me. he is currently eating what a kid his age OUGHT to be eating, which is 3-4 times what he was eating before.

  3. Diaper bags should be made of recyclable materials to help our environment. ,

    <a href="Most up-to-date blog post on our very own website
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/stress-rash/

  4. Sidney Ziebold

    When the little one arrives, diaper bags are a must. This can be anything from a bag specifically designed for this purpose to an oversized shoulder bag with a lot of extra compartments. The truth is that there is no universal rule for diaper bags and how they should look. In fact, they can be very stylish and even affordable.

    <,http://www.caramoan.co/

Leave a Reply

