Projects for ME. or, not really for me.

I kind of painted myself into a corner this year. I have a tendency to prepare for things too early. When I was working, I was the one who was always in the meeting room first. I arrived at my college classes early. I pack for vacation several days before we leave. It’s not Type A. I just do not like putting things off until the last minute.

I was trying with this pregnancy to not be overzealous with the preparations. I washed and put away diapers and baby clothes last week, for example, not in August. (Um, I’m due at the end of the year.)

But suddenly, I realized that I need to do new baby sewing AND Christmas gift sewing AND end of year restocking ALL at the same time! Yikes. (Even though, tax-wise, restocking now is a dumb move, I’d like to reopen in the spring with a nice inventory and I’d like to be able to do that without having to spend Feb feeling the pressure of empty shelves while figuring out our new normal with three kids in my office).

That said, through some diligent effort on my part, I’m making really good progress. If you’ve been following this blog or our Facebook or Twitter at all, you know I’ve been busy restocking. (next week is Cycle Pads and Cycle Pad Bags, wahoo.)

I’ve also gotten a fairly good start on Christmas presents.

I’ve got a set of placemats for each of my sisters in law and my mother in law (um, I may have cheated a bit here and pulled one set of placemats from the Boulevard Designs inventory, lol). I made an apron for my niece (she has the one from last year, but needs one for her mom’s house, too), and then we’ll also buy or make her some sort of small toy. I’ve also made each of my nieces a makeup bag and makeup brush holder.

Placemats Makeup Brush Holder

Apron Makeup Bag

I’m hoping to finish my father in law’s items this week, and next week, I’ll be doing screenprinting for my nephews and the littler kids on my list. (That will still leave my Brothers-in-law and a few odds and ends, but the bulk of the work will be done!)

I decided that the new baby doesn’t need me to sew anything for him or her, lol. I mean, really, I have enough gowns from the sewing I did for both older children, there’s a good-size stack of appliqued, stenciled, dyed, and batiked shirts in the drawer that I made for Genna, our diapers are of course still in really good shape and we absolutely do not need any more. I feel a little bad that this baby won’t really have anything NEW, but such is life for a third child.

As far as knitting goes, I’ve finished Genna’s puppets, socks for my midwife, and two pairs of longies.

knit puppets Midwife Socks

Longies Longies

I’m 75% finished with some awesome Spider socks for Wally, which I hope to finish this week. Then I’ll hopefully be able to whip out a pair of socks for  Genna and the new baby next week before moving on to a sweater for the new baby and socks for my doula and whoever comes to watch the kids while I’m in labor. Hopefully, I will also have time for a knit wool sleeping bag of sorts for the baby.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

