Somebody Asked: About Discounts

“I’m buying for twins, what kind of a discount can you give me?”  “I’d like to buy several of the same thing, but I want to know what the price will be first.”

I hear these questions a lot. While I’ve considered changing my policy on discounts like this from time to time, I currently still do not offer package discounts for most situations, beyond the Packages offered on the website.

Here’s why:  I work hard to keep my retail prices low so that they are affordable to all families. (more on that here) I know many resale shops and major manufacturers offer discounts on buying packages of 6-12 of the same diapers, or discounts to those buying diapers for twins, but those shops and manufacturers, by and large, are working with a much higher markup than I am. For some major brands of diapers, the retail markup is double. The diaper the retail store sells you for $20 cost the them just over $10, and cost the manufacturer just $5 or less. They have some margin there to work with.

My margin is much, much smaller. For one, though I buy my supplies wholesale, I don’t buy them in nearly the same quantities as, say, bumGenius. For two, all of my items are made by hand from start to finish. I don’t have a cutting machine. I don’t have an army of workers. I don’t have a factory, overseas or domestically.

If I wanted to open up the possibility of offering discounts for purchases of 10-12 diapers at a time, I’d actually need to raise my regular retail prices, in order to offer the less expensive price to only a few select customers. (So the discount price of our regular instock fitteds would be $9.99, but the regular retail price would have to go up to $13.99 or so, in order to make this “discount” happen. That’s not much of a discount, is it?)

Instead, I opt to offer the lowest price I can to ALL of my customers. I think you will agree that, particularly for their high quality, Wallypop diapers are already at the low end of the cost spectrum. Compare our $12.99 MTO hemp fitted to a Happy Hempy at around $18, for example.

It’s rare that, after I explain this to someone who’s just asked for a discount, that they go ahead and make a purchase. People don’t like being told no. But I cannot, in good conscience, raise my prices for everyone else in order to offer a special discount to just a few customers.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on May 15, 2011, in Business, Somebody Asked.... Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree 100%. I appreciate that your prices are low for everyone. Why increase overall cost just to offer a discount? I’ve looked at cloth diaper prices from all sorts of companies, from local and small to overseas and big. In my opinion your products are the best deal for the money.

  2. Thanks for making your diapers affordable for everyone.

Leave a Reply

