Spring clothes

I put together some really super quick spring clothes for Genna and a little for me, too.

my skirt Genna jammies Genna jammie pants
My skirt and some jammies for Genna.

Genna's new skirt Genna's new skirt
Genna’s skirts

The skirts were all made from scraps leftover from Ring Slings, so you might recognize the fabrics, lol. I didn’t use a pattern for the skirts, I rarely do. Mine is simply strips of fabric sewn together into a tube, then folded over at the top with Elastic and hemmed at the bottom. One of Genna’s skirts is silk, and is just two tubes of silk sewn together at the waist. I didn’t even hem this one, since the selvage edge of the fabric was quite nicely finished already. Genna’s ruffle skirt is actually made from some nice organic cotton I picked up for a few dollars on clearance at Joann’s a year or so ago, and the ruffle is ring sling scraps.

Genna’s jammies were made using a pair of pants and a shirt that fit her well as a pattern. The fabric is more Joann’s clearance – waffle weave cotton – and the striped capris are again leftover ring sling scraps.

You might notice that my personal sewing is all really simple stuff. Often, people wonder why I don’t sew fancier things.

It’s because I sew every day for hours every day.

When I sew something for me, or my kids, or whatever, I really don’t want it to be some long, involved project that requires careful attention to detail. I used to sew those things. I just don’t have the patience to do it these days. I’m usually trying to squeeze personal sewing in between order processing, sewing for inventory, taking care of the kids, washing dishes, etc. If I can sit down and whip out two skirts in a half hour, that’s GREAT.

Sitting down to a dress or skirt that’s going to take 8 hours… not so great!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 3, 2011, in Clothing, Completed Projects, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I definitely like your idea about keeping sewing for yourself simple! Maybe I need to do that more as I get SO frustrated with doing things that involve a great deal of time and energy. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

