Another reason to Buy Local!

Here’s another reason to seriously consider purchasing your baby items locally from a small business.

I get emails – several a month – from people who have purchased a baby carrier or cloth diapers online. They get them to their house, then they don’t know how to use them, and they’re not sure where to go for help. (I worry about how many people who have purchased their items online end up not finding anyone local to help…)

I’m certainly happy to help folks learn to use their other-brand carriers (and it’s part of my duties as coordinator of the Des Moines Babywearing group). I absolutely want to make sure people are using their carriers correctly, and it’s a service I provide for free. (I couldn’t in good conscience actually charge someone for helping them use a baby carrier!)

But when you buy from a small, local business, you get that type of service right when you purchase the carrier, and you have the freedom to go back as many times as you need for help. (Or, at least, that’s the type of service you should expect. I’m pretty sure that’s the service you get from Little Padded Seats and I know it’s the service you get from Wallypop – I can’t vouch for every small local business in the world.)

Shopping is about much more than just acquiring a product. Especially when it comes to baby items or any items more complex than, say, zip close bags.

(Consider, if you’re inexperienced with wine pairings, but you want to purchase the right wine for a special dinner you’re planning, do you go to Walmart? Or do you stop at a liquor store – such as Spirit Boulevard in Ankeny* – where you can get expert advice to help you with your purchase?)

*Spirit Boulevard is owned by my sister in law. If you’re in the Ankeny area and you need alcohol, it’s the place to go for friendly, expert service and a really nice selection, particularly of interesting beers.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on December 9, 2010, in Business. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. all my cloth diapers and carriers are from YOU and I love them all!!! The custom stuff is great. The MT is used 3 to 5 days a week and has been since 2007 and my boys fight over who gets to be on my back!!

Leave a Reply

