So tired!

Pictures tomorrow, but I’m all moved in to the new space, and I love it. I mean, I guess, I love the idea of it, since I haven’t actually worked in there yet.

I have a little alcove for my desk, my sewing table, and Wally’s desk. That’s also where the new sump pump is and it is HUGE and takes up a lot of room and I really don’t like it there. It was supposed to go in the other room (old office) but apparently, they can’t put it there because it would empty out onto the sidewalk and make ice. (Yes, we had a brief discussion with the contractors about the fact that the person giving us the quote certainly should have known that.) But – big and in the way as it is, it will be keeping the basement dry (hopefully!!) so… as long as it earns its keep, it can stay. 🙂

There’s more space around the cutting table, and I have a bit more room for inventory. My shipping boxes have a place now, instead of taking up space at my desk. Where the boxes used to be (in my desk), I now have a nice box to hold Ready To Ship packages, instead of piling them on the floor. The kids have a nice, big space to play in. Of course, I haven’t moved in the easel or the beanbags yet, which will take up some space.

There’s also a big, widescreen TV in there, lol. I’m not sure how I feel about that, and I’m not sure it’ll stay. I’ve never had a TV in my office before. (Unlike a lot of people, though, I’ll freely admit to you that we’ve just used the computers to play movies or watch Hulu. It’s not like the lack of an actual TV means a lack of TV watching.) I don’t feel like the TV is needed, and it hogs a LOT of what could otherwise be shelf space. But it doesn’t currently have any other home, so there it is. (My new office used to be our family room, until we had the break-in, and that’s where the burglar was when we got home, and I stopped wanting to be in there any more.)

I tried to move in all of the fabric, but there just wasn’t space for it. So, I have some fabric in one corner, some fabric on some other shelves, and then the fleece and other fabric on rolls back in my old fabric storage area.

I even have a window I can open to let in some fresh air! And this spring, I’ll make myself a screen for said window and then I won’t have to worry about our friendly neighborhood raccoon coming to live with us. Or, you know, some random person.

I think my favorite part – again, in theory – is that I have a little two-seater table in there. So now when I have customers over, they have a comfortable place to sit if they want, and we have a surface other than my cutting table to spread out products and whatnot. Customers will also find it easier to reach the inventory, since there’s a LOT more space between the cutting table and the inventory boxes.

I do anticipate a long period of misplacing things, since I’ll be all off my routine. You know, for example, I typically put my scissors in one place while I’m cutting, but that place is in a different place now. So I’ll put them down somewhere else and then not be able to remember where I put them.

And in other news, my washing machine burned out today – it hasn’t been spinning correctly for about two years now, and has been causing problems like little holes in clothes, but today after I threw in a load of dirty diapers (of course), it didn’t drain at all and by the time I noticed there was a problem, it was smoking and making a strange noise. I’ve been wanting a new washer for a while anyway, so now’s my chance.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on October 24, 2010, in Sweatshop. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I want to come see it. !!!! I can’t wait for the photos this sounds GREAT.

    so did i miss it, what are you doing with the other part of the basement? storage?

    I am so excited for you!!!!!!

    • We actually decided on Saturday that we’re going to move Randy’s desk down from the attic and also get a little desk for our family computer and have our family office in there.

Leave a Reply

