Mold Making

OK, this was so fun. I’m going to order more mold making goodies and start scouring the planet for fun things to make. I already have a few ideas.

The first thing I did was firmly affix the original to the bottom of my tray. I sealed it around all of the edges with modeling clay. Then I also sealed along the bottom of the tray, since the joint between the walls and the bottom of the tray was not tight.

Making a Mold

I followed the instructions that came with the mold making stuff to mix up the silicone and apply it. I didn’t take any pictures during this part – I was trying to work quickly, measure accurately, and not let either very curious child make a mess. But here’s what it looked like after I finished pouring in the silicone.

Making a Mold

Four hours later…

Making a Mold

Of course, I could not resist making a quick bar of soap, so I remelted some leftover soap pieces I had from a different project.

Making a Mold Making a Mold

The melted soap was all full of air bubbles, and so the resulting soap is a little messy.

So – I’m so excited! Han Solo in Carbonite soap, chocolates, and candies!!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on September 4, 2010, in Completed Projects. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So awesome!! Looks like tons of fun! B even commented yesterday that he really likes your Oatmeal Honey soap! I love how soothing it is; but still lathers really well

  2. Han Solo soap! Now I need a mold making kit in my life asap!

  3. That’s awesome!! I need one for myself…of course I need to actually get off my butt and start making soap lol!

Leave a Reply

