Burglary

Well, our home (and, consequently, my business) was broken into today. Happy Mother’s Day to me!

We’re OK, nothing was stolen that we can tell. It’s a long story, but the woman was passed out on our couch when we got home.

I wanted to be sure to reassure you, my customers, that your personal information is completely safe. I’ve had a few people who I’m friends with on Facebook contact me with concerns already, so I wanted to make sure everyone knows this information.

I don’t keep any financial information on customers. The only payment information I keep is for current orders (ordered but not shipped), and that is not maintained here. It is never written down, it is never downloaded to my computer. It stays in the password-protected database at my credit card processor (just like banking information is protected online). After an order is shipped, the payment information is deleted. If I forget to delete it for any reason, the system automatically deletes it after 5 weeks.

If I need to write payment information down for any reason (taking a phone order, for example), that information is shredded as soon as I’m done with it. (and the shreds are then used as bedding for the chickens, lol.)

I do maintain a database of customer contact information, typically first and last name, mailing address, and a phone number or email address. This is maintained locally on my computer, and is also password-protected. (not to the same level of protection as a bank, though!)

I don’t keep any information printed out (old invoices, etc). I have very few paper records, to be honest.

In this particular case, though I know the criminal was in my office (I found one thing out of place), I also know she did not access any of my files. My computer was locked up (well, giving me an error message I hadn’t cleared) when we left the house, and the same error message was showing when we got home. My chair was not out of place, and the keyboard and mouse were put up, right where i had left them. (I store them up off the desk so Genna doesn’t mess with them.)

So, please rest assured, though I’m no Fort Knox, I do take your security safely, and you have no reason to be concerned.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

