If you call…

…which I encourage if you have questions or just want to chat with a real person before ordering… just please don’t start out the phone conversation like this:

Ring Ring! Ring ring!

me: Hello?
you: Who is this?

Because I’m likely to respond “you called me, who is THIS?” and that’s not a good way to start.

The Wallypop phone number is also our home phone number. (And we also share it with Swing Des Moines.) Unprofessional? Yes. But neither business receives enough phone traffic to warrant its own phone number, so all three share a number. And 50% of the calls received are for a grocery store, a church, or the playhouse, all of which apparently either have misprinted their phone numbers, or have very similar phone numbers. And most of THOSE calls start out with this “who is this” business.

So, anyway, just, you know, realize that if you say “who is this” in response to my Hello, you’re likely to hear “well, who is THIS?” as your answer.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 10, 2010, in Sweatshop. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. One of my biggest pet peeves. My father-in-law says this when I answer the phone, as if after 15 years it would be somebody else! I always answer “Who is THIS?”

Leave a Reply

