Yesterday!

I spent the day yesterday talking to two Family and Consumer Sciences classes at a local high school. The topic? Natural Parenting. We covered cloth diapers, babywearing, breastfeeding, natural birthing, positive discipline, and many other topics. The kids seemed really interested and asked some good questions, including:

– Don’t you HAVE to breastfeed for 3 months? (How I wanted to answer that one with “yes.”)

– Why do people eat placenta? (i did not bring this up!!) (this led one confused young man to ask if we were talking about eating our periods. Um, no. I’m very glad you asked, though.)

– Did my husband agree with the way we raise our children. In my answer, I deftly skirted the issue of religious beliefs about the role of husband and wife in marriage, and stuck to “in our family, my husband has delegated all child-related decision-making to me, as the primary caregiver.”

The students were incredulous that an epidural might affect a baby, or that homebirth can be safer than a hospital birth. I encouraged them to research the issues themselves. I hope they do.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on November 20, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kudo to you. I don’t think I could have answered those questions with a stright face.

  2. What a GREAT opportunity! and I JUST OPENED MY PREMIUM, UNBLEACHED, PREWASHED (no dryer) WALLYPOP PREFOLDS! Yes, I am YELLING, ‘cuz I AM SOOO HAPPY! OH are they LUSCIOUS! Thank you, thank you, *THANK YOU!* (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

