Oh, Baby!

Oh Baby booth - 4/4

Wallypop participates in a few hospital baby fairs every year – Oh Baby at Iowa Methodist and The Stork Affair at Mercy. This picture is from Oh Baby, which was on Saturday.

I will say, we’ve come a LOOOOONG way since I originally started at the fairs 4 years ago. I used to get largely just snotty looks, eye rolls, or wrinkled noses walking by. Baby carriers and slings were pretty oddball, and cloth diapers – um, gross!

Early on, I decided my purpose at the fairs was NOT sales, it was awareness. I may not (probably will not) change the minds of the eye rollers at the fair, but they’ve just had one more (or their first) contact with modern cloth diapers. Ten or twenty contacts with modern cloth diapers later, maybe they’ll wipe those wrinkles off their noses.

And then their friend, or their sister, or their cousin won’t be on the receiving end of their scorn when they decide to use cloth.

Four years later, most people who walk by have at least seen modern diapers, even if they have no plans to use them. People are not afraid to stop by just to look at the shoes or the leg warmers or the slings. I think people are also pleasantly surprised when they do stop that I don’t try to talk them into anything. Not interested in cloth? OK. I have other things for you.

Interested in cloth? Not sure? I’ll talk your ear off. Or, I’ll let you cruise on by. Whatever. I’m not interested in holding people hostage while I try to make them feel bad for their choices.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on April 6, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

