Wow – Wallypop is Copy-worthy

I sometimes remember to pop over to Craigslist to browse for cloth diaper listings. (I get questions all the time in my role as coordinator for our local cloth diapering group about sources for used dipes.) Today, I found a listing by a self-described “local WAHM” selling cloth diapers that look, um, exactly like Wallypop diapers. Down to the detail of stencling designs on that are, I’m not kidding, 100% exact copies of dipes I’ve made for Genna and posted on here.

And though I was at first a little mad, I’m actually kind of flattered. (Note, my being flattered doesn’t change the fact that copying another person’s product and then selling it is completely immoral and unethical.)

Since the person making/selling these diapers obviously reads my blog, let me take a moment to point out to you that as soon as you paint a design on anything, it becomes an item with surface painting, or surface coating. This gives you a MUCH more stringent set of requirements under the CPSIA. The lead paint rules are much stricter and more onerous than the total lead content rules. Unless you’re having each item tested, you are in violation of the law and could lose your house over it. It’s not worth the risk.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on March 31, 2009, in Cloth Diapering. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

