All About… Fitted Diapers

Fitted diapers are the item that started it all. My very first dipes were fitteds. They were uglier than sin. I drafted a pattern from scratch and put it together. Actually, it was a pretty good shot for a first attempt at a from-scratch pattern, but it quickly underwent numerous changes before I had some online friends give them a try on their kiddos. Then they were much refined after Wally was born, and underwent one last major pattern revision about 3 years ago.

I make my basic fitteds out of flannel fabric. I use flannel because it wears well, is soft and absorbent, and easy to get in cute prints. Flannel is fairly inexpensive compared to the other options for fitteds, keeping them in line with my goal of affordable prices.

I use cotton sherpa in the inside, it’s very absorbent without the stiffness you get from terry, and without the weight and density of many layers of flannel. I don’t use microfiber inside fitteds unless requested to do so – microfiber is good at absorbing quickly (for a time) but does not HOLD the liquid. Additionally, drying microfiber drastcally shortens its useful life.

I turn and topstitch rather than overcasting (serging) the edges because I like the look better – it looks more finished to me. I don’t topstitch stretchy fabrics like Tshirts, hemp, etc., only the flannel. The stretchy fabrics look better without the topstitching, in my opinion. Topstitching really doesn’t affect function.

The patterns I use were developed through trial and error, mostly with Wally as a baby, and with fellow mamas as testers. They seem to have a wide range of body types they fit, and they are engineered to make the most efficient use of fabric. The medium, in particular, has a crazy wide weight range. I love it. I kept dinking with it until it would fit the large end of the range as well as it fit the small end.

I personally prefer edge-sewn soakers. They give you the most absorbency with the shortest dry time and the least amount of work while doing laundry.

Some people prefer hidden soakers, this gives you a cleaner look, but takes a bit longer to dry.

Other options that people have asked for include snap-in soakers and lay-in soakers. Snap-in soakers are a lot like edge-sewn soakers, except that the soaker can some out, which is appealing to some people. Lay-in soakers, I’ll be honest, I just don’t understand. You have two pieces to keep track of and match up when putting clean dipes away. Two pieces to keep together in the diaper bag. Etc.

And that’s all about Fitted diapers. Got a question I didn’t answer? Post in the comments.

About wallypop

I'm a Work At Home Mom! I'm so blessed to be able to stay home with my baby and sew fun things like diapers, slings, and other cloth products for my customers. I hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Posted on March 20, 2009, in All About. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I wanted to add one thing: I have seen various people claim “no ruffly edges to irritate baby’s skin” as reasons for turning and topstitching. This is where I think many retailers do their customers a disservice – this is marketing language. Not fact.

    I mean, it’s true, sure. But what is NOT true is the underlying assumption: that overcast (“ruffly”) edges irritate baby’s skin.

    They don’t. Don’t believe the hype you read online, ok?

Leave a Reply

