Proud Grandpa

A few weeks ago, a local customer stopped by to order some diapers. She came straight from work, and met her dad at my house with her son. She ended up being delayed somewhat at work, leaving me some time to chat with her father – and Genna and my customer’s son a chance to flirt with each other.

As it turns out, my customer had been having some difficulty finding daycare she liked, and her dad had recently retired, so he volunteered to watch his grandson during the days. He absolutely beamed as he told me all of this, just delighted at the opportunity to spend the days with his grandson. He went on and on about the things the baby (5 months old) was up to, how it was a lot of work, but very rewarding, etc.

It was such a joy to see.

At the same time, the evening left me a bit saddened. My dad would have loved grandchildren – he loved children in general. I can just see him doing all sorts of crazy things with my kids – singing made-up songs with them, running around the yard, playing football, playing silly made-up games. I miss my dad regularly, moreso on days when I think about how much fun he and my kids would have had together. But even moreso seeing other grandfathers who so obviously enjoy their grandkids.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on March 6, 2009, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

