Well, darnit

So my main sewing machine, the automatic thread cutter stopped working right. And it stopped working right just after I finished up an order, and with several days to go before I needed to start on the next order, so it seemed like a good time to take it in. Because the auto thread cutter isn’t something I NEED, so it’s a repair that can wait.

So I dropped it off, they thought it’d be done Monday morning. Nope. Need to hear back from Janome, who was closed for President’s Day. (I didn’t ask why a Japanese company is closed on President’s Day.) Last night, I got out the Second String machine. Today, I used it all day, and was just getting into a good groove with it when it started screeching. Loudly. So loudly that I got a headache.

Off it goes to the shop, right?

Now I’m down to my third string, which is a machine so old, it’s belt-driven, and it needs a new belt. I’m trying to decide if it’s worth getting it out and finding the right belt, or if I’m better off just waiting for the main machine to come back.

In the meantime, I’m not able to do any sewing. My serger’s back up (I cracked the needle plate, but that’s just a matter of getting the right replacement part), but I’ve serged nearly everything I can serge without needing to sew first.

Sigh.

But a shout out to Metro Sales and Service in Des Moines. (3846 E 14th St,  265-7504) They do all of my machine servicing and the gal who is usually working when I drop in is super nice. (She was excited to see my machine in the paper!) I have bought my most recent three machines there, too. (OK, the only three machines I’ve bought, ever.)

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 17, 2009, in Business, Sweatshop. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

