Sling Training Program

I have Genna on what I jokingly call the Sling Training Program. Thing is, the girl doesn’t like the carriers when she’s awake most of the time. She wants to be held. In my arms.

I have two theories about this.

1. She was so small at birth, and she had so much room in the womb, that she just doesn’t like to be cozy like that. (Wally loved the carriers and he was large at birth and so was accustomed to being much more cozy in there, thus might have been more in favor of being cozy in a carrier.)

2. She thinks I’m boring when I use the carriers. Wally was born in the spring and most of the time when I put him on, we’d go for walks, or I’d walk around the house, or whatever. This is the advice I give to everyone – move, walk, don’t stand still. But with it being frigid outside, we’re not really going for walks. When I put Genna on, I’m usually doing stuff around the house. I’m putting her on for my convenience – to try to keep her happy while I wash dishes or cut fabric. That’s just too boring for her.

Regardless of the reason, we’ve started Sling Training. Which is basically what I recommend to everyone who reports that their babies seem unhappy in the carriers. I put her in a carrier when she’s well fed and happy, and not sleepy. Then I do interesting things, I walk around, I clean the house in a very active manner, etc. (or if we’re at the store, I just do shopping). When she starts to fuss, she comes out. We’ve been doing this purposefully for a few weeks now and it’s working really well.

And I think we’ll ALL be happier when we can spend more time outside!!!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Babywearing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

