CPSIA – more

Another excellent post from Kathleen, talking about how the latest stay of enforcement doesn’t really change anything for many businesses.

She makes excellent points. (And you should absolutely read it.) However, for me, it makes all the difference. I have a few components I can’t guarantee the lead content of – I’m sending those off next week for testing. (And will hold off on using them in the meantime.)

My retailers aren’t requiring GCCs anyway – at least not so far – and I’m comfortable just dropping them if they do. (I don’t mean to be harsh here, but wholesale is a very small small part of my business.)

And I don’t have the zipper/metal snap/grommets/etc issue with my stuff.

Yes, the AG could decide to go ahead and enforce. I’ve tried to make that point to others – enforcement is a state issue. I think the liklihood of that is relatively slim and am comfortable with that risk. (I mean, our AG is off doing super important things like suing Microsoft.)

So there you have it. I’m taking steps to make sure I’m in compliance with the law just as though there were NOT a stay. The difference is that I don’t feel that I have to test every single little thing. I’m testing enough. I’m relying on assurances from suppliers.

And for me, the main difference is that I am not having to close up the main part of my business in August. Maybe I have to do it in Feb 2010. But that’s another 6 months. That’s 6 months I didn’t used to have. That’s another 6 months to develop and build up other parts of my business.

Yay.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 7, 2009, in Regulation. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

