Harkin correspondance

me to him:

Senator Harkin,

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, according to the three attorneys with whom I’ve been able to discuss the particulars of the law, the CPSIA contains no provision to exempt one of a kind items. If you believe otherwise, I would greatly appreciate if you could point out exactly what language you believe gives this exemption.

Additionally, it is not that testing will be a “significant burden.” It will put most if not all cottage industries straight out of business. That’s mostly moms, working at home to provide much-needed income for their families. A fellow business owner, who will be forced to close her doors in August due to this law, is currently the only source of income in her family – her husband was recently laid off from Principal. Once they lose her income, as well, the family will need to go on government assistance just to eat. Looking beyond the impact on the families of those who make children’s items, this law will also remove marketplace options from consumers. By the end of this year, unless things change, I will no longer be able to buy my children’s toys and clothes from small, at-home makers. I will have to start shopping at big stores, buying mass-produced merchandise imported from China. Is this really what you want? Really? In the name of “safety?”

I do not disagree that child safety is important. But I will also assert that the current law, as it stands, does not gain anything in safety for the onerous testing requirements. Children would be just as safe if manufacturers were allowed to test components, rather than finished goods. There is no gain in safety if I have to test the same fabric 8 times because I make 8 different items from it – the fabric is just as safe after the first test as it is after the eighth test, do you not agree?

Lastly, Senator, I do really appreciate your response. I contacted all three of my Washington representatives (Boswell, Grassley, and you). I have received responses from all three, but you are the only one who seems to have actually read my concerns and refrained from discussing all the wonderful things you’re going to do for me in the upcoming session. It is nice to at least know you understand my concerns, even though you’ve made it clear you don’t think they are important.

him to me:

Thank you for contacting me.  I am always glad to hear from you.

	I appreciate your continuing interest in the Consumer Product Safety 
Improvement Act.  You raised several important points in your letter. 
Please be assured that I will continue to study this important issue and 
will keep your views in mind as it is debated in the Senate.

	Again, thanks for sharing your views with me.  Please don't hesitate to 
let me know how you feel on any issue that concerns you.
About wallypop

I'm a Work At Home Mom! I'm so blessed to be able to stay home with my baby and sew fun things like diapers, slings, and other cloth products for my customers. I hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Posted on January 28, 2009, in Regulation. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hahahah right now the formatting is off and (in my browser window at least) Harkins’ last sentence reads, “Please don’t let me know how you feel on any issue that concerns you.”

  2. well that’s more accurate anyway…

Leave a Reply

