Somebody Asked…about PUL

First, Phthalates.

I’m almost certain I’ve blogged about this before, but I cannot find it, so here’s another post for you!

Does PUL contain Phthalates? I would say that it probably does, but I’ve not run any chemical tests. However, though I will tell people that it probably does, I sat down to look it up again today and was surprised to find that the answer is not so cut and dried, at least to those of us Chemistry-phobes. The coating is a polyurethane. Read the link and decide for yourself…

I do know many, many people who choose not to use PUL – or any polyesters – in their diapering out of a desire to avoid any potentially harmful chemicals.

That said, many parents feel that the risk to their child is minimal, and that it’s hard to beat the thin waterproofness that PUL provides.

I will note that some brands of diaper (and baby) products are made with vinyl – vinyl DOES DEFINITELY contain phthalates (in the form of BPA among others) as well as lead. So, um, maybe avoiding products with vinyl would be a good idea!

Here is a link to a slightly biased article at Diaper Pin on this subject.

What about lead?

PUL  – at least the stuff I use – does not contain lead in excess of current laws. (CPSIA)

About wallypop

I'm a Work At Home Mom! I'm so blessed to be able to stay home with my baby and sew fun things like diapers, slings, and other cloth products for my customers. I hope you enjoy reading my blog!

Posted on January 26, 2009, in Cloth Diapering. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

