Changes to Made to Order Process

Awesome Diaper

So we’re drastically changing the way we handle Made to Order items around here. When we re-open on January 4, you will need to reserve a Made to Order spot, and then you will be allowed to actually order your items (however many you want).

My process before was working alright. I allowed MTOs to be placed without restriction. Sometimes this meant that the wait time for MTOs was 3-4 weeks, or longer. However, most of you seemed to be OK with that (considering that so many of you expressed willingness to wait that long). But it wasn’t working all that great for me!

First, I get sooo stressed out knowing that people have given me money and are now waiting for their things.

Second, I ended up sewing MTO items and not having any time to work on restocking. This made for a bad, bad circle. No time for inventory = no inventory. No inventory = customers have to order MTO. Customers have to order MTO =  all my time is spent sewing MTO. All my time spent sewing MTO = no time for inventory. And so on.

We’ll see how this new system works. I’m going to give it a go for a few months. I’d appreciate feedback on the whole thing if you have a moment. And in a few months, I’ll see what we all think before deciding whether to make it permanent.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on December 29, 2008, in Sweatshop. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OH my Oh my I cant say enough wonderful things about Sarah and what a fab dipe she makes!!!!!! Even the girls at my daughters daycare love them. I have a few diffrent styles and brands and by far hers are THE BEST!!!!!! Thank you for making a great dipe keep up the great work for us and mother earth

Leave a Reply

