Working

Fleece Covers

This is this week’s project (and it’ll spill into next week). Restocking fleece covers and wool wraps. I’m satisfied with the progress I’m making as we adapt to working with two littles. I’m getting in a good solid 2 hours a day, and as long as Miss G stays asleep during those two hours, I can get a LOT of work done. Wally plays games on the computer or otherwise entertains himself (OK, these last few days, it’s been mostly watching movies, but that stops on Monday) so he’s busy and happy and mostly lets me work.

Genevieve doesn’t love her hammock the way she did when she was only a week old, but she would sleep ANYWHERE at that age and now, at the ripe age of 6 weeks, she’s showing a definite preference (or demand?) to sleep in very close proximitiy to another human. And that’s fine. That’s what baby carriers are for.

Two hours a day is great. It’s less than half of what Wallypop running at full steam really needs. But it’s a good start, and it might be all I can reasonably expect for a while. A long while, maybe. We’ll adapt. I’m going to make a few changes to how things are run that might help. More on that later. I’m just working on getting fully stocked for right now.

As I restock, though, I can’t help but think that this is all futile. I may very well have to close in February, or at least change my business substantially. I’m thinking up all sorts of crazy schemes to stay in business and still making diapers and carriers. I just can’t believe the government is putting me and thousands of others in this position. If none of my crazy schemes pan out (or are legal), though, Wallypop will become a substantially different company in February. I’m not sure what that company will look like at this point!!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on December 12, 2008, in Sweatshop. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

