Christmas Gifts: Pouches for Girls

Zip Pouches for Christmas

Yesterday, I finished up part of my gift packages for my nieces. I have three who are close in age, and decided to give them all largely the same things this year: a set of pouches, some fun soaps, and a few other small things.

I’ve had the soaps done for a month or so, but just finished up the pouches. As I’m reasonably sure that none of them read this blog, I’m posting pictures for you to see.

Pinch Pouches

All of the zip-top pouches were made from fabrics I had in my scrap bin, so really my only expense was the zippers, which I buy in bulk anyway, for about $.50 apiece. The pouches with the zippers in the middle were inspired by this blog post. The pinch pouches were made more or less following this tutorial. None of them are perfect, but I think the flaws are noticeable only to me. I had fun doing the hand embroidery – it’s been years since I embroidered anything! I was happy that the technique came back to me quickly, but I was well into my third pouch before was embroidering with anything resembling competence.

Zip Pouches for Christmas

So, each girl gets three pouches, about five soaps (rainbow, animal, etc), and then a few little things chosen just for them and not hand-made: a few High School Musical pens, some favorite snack food, etc.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on October 27, 2008, in Completed Projects, Gifts, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. How wonderful to see someone really used my tutorial! Good job!

  2. What a lovely gift – I particularly like the pinch pockets. The fabric is lovely with that hint of ‘glitz’ in it. I like the zippered pouches too – will you be having these in your shop in time for Christmas?

  3. Hm, I hadn’t been planning to list more zip pouches at Etsy – they have not sold well on Etsy in the past. It seems like every third person there sells zip pouches. They’re mainly craft sale items for me. If you’re interested in purchasing some, however, please just convo me on Etsy and I’m happy to make some up for you.

  4. It seems like something is missing, no?

Leave a Reply

