Someone Asked… Are you Amazon.com? Or Target?

OK, nobody really asked this. It has come up in conversation recently, though.

I’m not Amazon or Target.

1) I don’t have an IT department. I have me. So I don’t have an IT department to run my fancy shopping cart system that will calculate a hundred different things and give you real-time shipping information. I wish I did. But if I had that much money, honestly, I’d probably close Wallypop and spend the money doing something like travelling.

2) I don’t have 24 hour customer service. I can’t even guarantee you a response in 24 hours. I mean, I try. But I’m a mom. I have kids, I homeschool, I volunteer, I’m active in 4 nonprofit organizations, and I teach dance lessons 3 nights a week. Some days, we have activities all day, and by the time I sit down to work, it’s WAAAAY to late to consider calling you back. I will call back. I promise. Just not immediately. (PS, I also don’t answer the phone every time it rings. Sometimes I’m not home. Sometimes I just can’t get to it. I kind of chuckle when I get a message with “I’d prefer to talk to a real person and not a machine.” I mean, I’d like it, too, but then again, I also enjoy not sitting by the phone all day in case someone calls, you know?)

3) I can’t take back your item after you wore it 3 times and then decided you no longer liked it. Why? I don’t have the profit margin to make up for that type of loss. Target can take back your items because they’ll just sell them clearance at 50% off, and they’ll still make money. Abercrombie and other stores ship your returns (or damaged merchandise, as well) to one or two stores across the country and sell them for super cheap. (My sis used to work at the Abercrombie location that received this merchandise. Loved those days.) I can’t generally sell your used items and still make money from them. Though I’m pretty sure that none of those places will accept worn items, either.

4) I don’t have boatloads of inventory, and when I run out, I can’t just order more. Because I make most of my inventory myself. When I run out, I have to make more. Sometimes, it’ll be a month or so. I generally try to stay on top of inventory, but things got out of hand this year with my mom’s illness/death and I’m still making up for that.

5) But I’m not like them in so many good ways

    When you email, you get me. The owner.

    You can order your items made however you like them. Pick a fabric, get your own fabric, snaps, Touchtape, hidden soaker, snap-on soaker, 6 yards, 5 yards, extra long straps, add a pocket, etc.

    We usually want to make you happy. Big stores don’t care.

    Well, Amazon and Target don’t offer the fantastic products we do.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on May 27, 2008, in Somebody Asked.... Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

