Iowa Caucus

Well, the Iowa Caucus is this evening – in about 28 minutes, actually – and I will be heading out momentarily to attend. My first caucus ever, I’m pretty excited.

Oddly, I don’t yet know who I’ll be voting for. But I still have 26 minutes now to figure it out, so I’ve got time!

I’ve been chuckling at the media recently “We’ll be here in Iowa as long as it takes to bring you the results as they come in.” the hidden message there is “and then we’re out of here faster than you can say ‘Hawkeye State.'” I read a Hillary Clinton quote, she was being asked about her lack of emotion and the fact that she doesn’t cry much. She did almost cry, though, she said, when she woke up at 4 am in Des Moines. Nice. But we all know that all the candidates, their entourages, the media, and everyone else will be gone by this time tomorrow.

And, frankly, I can’t wait. I had 7 messages on my answering machine when I got home today. Romney, Huckabbe, Romney, Huckabee, the car repair shop, Romney, and Guiliani. I’ve started telling them when the phone rings that, whoever their candidate is, I’m not voting for them. Before this most recent strategy, I had been just rotating through the candidates, naming whichever one came to mind first, whenever anyone called to see who we’d be supporting.

Well, it’s 6:38, and time to head out. Hopefully, I’ll have decided by the time I get there!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on January 3, 2008, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

