What’s going on with me

Well, my mom had chest pain on Wednesday of last week, which is not unusual for her (she has GURD, in addition to heart disease). She was on her way to PD clinic (dialysis – she does dialysis at home, but has Clinic every week) and I was driving her and she did not have her nitro with her (bad bad). Her PD clinic nurse took her to the ER to get nitro, she was fine, then her blood sugar (she’s diabetic) got way out of control, and they admitted her to the hospital.

Fast forward a few days, she’s finally consented to the angiogram they’ve been wanting to do for a year or so (she had been reluctant, because the dye used in the angiogram would have killed the remaining kidney function she had, but now that she’s on dialysis anyway, it really doesn’t matter that much). Found out she needed bypass surgery, and soon.

So she had that on Tuesday, seemed to be doing really well for the first 24 hours, then started slowly getting worse. Then on Thursday, she coded (heart and lungs stopped). They brought in the paddles and intubated her and did chest compressions (not in that order) and got her going again. And she’s doing better today.

But two of the three bypass grafts are nonfunctional. She has only one artery that supplies blood to her heart, and her heart function is like 20%. Not good. Yesterday (Friday) morning, the cardiologist basically said that there’s no good news. If they can get her off the epi and other heart medicine, then she has a chance at having “some” quality of life. If they can’t get her off the medicine, then basically, that’s it. She cannot remain on the medicine forever.

Well, they DID get her off the medicine, but her blood pressure still just plummets any time she moves, even just to get clean sheets. That said, they all have said she’s doing much better, and going home “some day” is a “reasonable goal.”

So things have been at a standstill here while I’ve spent every waking minute at the hospital, which is made even harder by the fact that Wally can’t be there with me (because it’s ICU). My aunt and sister have been here, which is nice, but they’re going home tomorrow, and then it’ll just be me to deal with all this. I have no idea what the future holds, or how I’ll deal with the business AND her needs.

But that’s where we stand.

I’m closed now through the new year (jan 7). I was hoping to spend that time catching up and getting some things done that have needed doing for a long time, in addition to end of the year financial stuff, but it looks like I’ll instead spend that time taking care of my mom.

So I’m planning to reopen on the 7th, but I just don’t know.

UPDATE: 1/7 – I decided to remain closed an additional week shortly after posting this. However, I am doing some order processing this week as I have time and am also catching up on made to order and custom items from before the holidays. I will be back open full time next week.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on December 22, 2007, in Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m so sorry about your mom Sarah.

    We understand that family comes first. Your mother is blessed to have you by her side.

  2. Sarah,
    I will be remembering you and your mom in my prayers. Have as Merry a Christmas as you can.
    I love your diapers, but that can wait. Your mom is lucky to have a daughter like you.

  3. so sorry to hear all this!

  4. I’m very sorry to hear about your mom. I will be praying for her and your family. Family comes first and you do an excellent job juggling both, so everyone should understand that this has to be your focus right now. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2008.

  5. We will continue to pray for strength for you and your family. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom but will pray for the best. Hope things will get better for you with the coming of the New Year.

  6. I’m sorry to come and visit and find that you’ve been having difficult times. I hope all is improving as the holidays subside.

    I have not visited for awhile and I’m loving the look and feel of your site.

    You and your family are in my thoughts. Blessings and healing for 2008.

  7. Sarah,

    We are so sorry to hear about your Mom. Take as much time as you need, family always comes first. We will be keeping you in our thoughts.

    Best wishes for a better year in 2008.

  8. Sarah~ so sorry to hear about your mom. I just placed an order for a sling and didn’t see the message about being closed until after the PP went through. If you have to remain closed for the near future, please let me know. You can return my PP, I totally understand what it is like to be completely taken with family illness. I pray that your mom is doing better very soon, and that you family holds strong while this is all going on. Take care, and let me know what you need to do.

Leave a Reply

