Craft Saturday Review – what I learned from my first craft show

Craft Saturday Booth

I had fun getting ready for Craft Saturday. I made a bazillion things to take (too many), made myself a coat tree with about $8 worth of materials, made myself a nifty sign, priced and packed up all my stuff. The show was fun, despite the cold (outside and inside – I just couldn’t get warm), the small crowds, and the incredibly dark and dreary surroundings. It was very well-organized – kudos and thanks to Danelle and Joe, who do all the work to put it on. I’ll definitely be back.

I did also learn a lot from my first craft show experience.  I share that here, in the hopes that it helps someone else.

  • Do a trial run. I taped off a booth in my dining room, set up my table, did some arranging and rearranging. But I did forget that I’d have a lamp, and I also had already packed away some of my items, so when I arrived to set up at my actual location on Saturday, things were a bit different. I mean, it wasn’t a tragedy, but I wish I’d done a full-scale trial run.
  • Bring a buddy. I didn’t have a buddy for this event. I mean, Randy has to stay home with Wally. My mom can’t be out in the snow. My friends all have small children and are understandably reluctant to leave their families on a weekend. So I was all on my own for the afternoon. Got a little boring. I couldn’t really get up.
  • Bring a project. Not only was I able to knit to pass the time in between visitors (it was really really slow at times), but many visitors commented favorably on the knitting. I also found that people were likely to stay and browse longer if I merely looked up, said hi, made a comment about whatever they happened to be looking at, and then went back to my knitting. I was available if they needed me, but not staring at them. This also meshes well with how I like to shop. If the booth owner ignores me, I’m more likely to stay and browse than if they’re just staring at me while I check out their stuff.
  • Less is more. I had waaay too much stuff. I was actually just being optimistic. I left many things packed away, but I wanted to bring them in case I sold through the stuff I set out originally. ha ha. But still. way. too. much.
  • Labels and signs are important. The things I had labeled (I made little tent signs with a short description and the price of similar items that were grouped together) were the things that got looked at. The things that didn’t have signs did not get looked at.
  • Provide a logical progression through the booth. I lacked that, but many other booths had a good logical progression. I’ll have to fine-tune my set-up for the next time.
  • If you bring a mannequin, be sure to bring some clothes for her. I have never forgotten a shirt for Miss Inflatable, but I did this time, and she looked a little inappropriate. I was embarassed for her.

I did make money. I made back my booth fee as well as the cost of the materials for the coat tree, plus some. I think it was a success. I’ve taken note of what sold and what didn’t and am already planning some changes for next time.

Those of you who came out – thanks for braving the weather and the bad forecast! Those of you who didn’t – maybe we’ll see you in March??

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on December 10, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

