Homemade Holidays Crafting Meme (part 1)

I think I’ll be doing this in several parts, but it looks like fun. I can’t wait to read what others have to say!

Gifts

  • Do you have a favorite gift that you love to give?

No, actually, I don’t. I have a fairly steady list of people to whom I give gifts, so I try to make new things every year. The funnest thing to make to date has been last year’s bath and body goodies. (link)

Sugar Scrub Melting the Balm Ingredients

  • If you’re making gifts this year, what are you making? (Post photos if you have some!)

This year, I’m making pillowcase sets for the adults (one for each holiday/season) and hoodies for the kids. Pictures will come when I get them done!!

  • Do you have any good stories about handcrafted gifts you’ve given or received?

Gosh, I think generally, people roll their eyes a bit that I’m giving homemade stuff yet again this year, toss whatever I’ve spent hours creating into the closet, and forget about it, lol. Our families don’t have a great appreciation for handmade goodness. I did hear that the sugar scrub from last year was a hit with my mom’s dog.

I do have in my possession some pillowcases and table linens that were hand-embroidered by my great-grandmother. She made them as a wedding gift to my parents, and my mom kept them in a drawer all these years. We found them at my dad’s house when he died, and learned the story behind them when I asked my mom about them several years later. Knowing my great-grandmother, she would have been horrified that all her handiwork had been kept in a drawer – she made things to be used! (She also used her good China – and she had some seriously nice stuff – on a regular basis…because it’s meant to be used.) So we pulled them out and have started using them now, much to my mom’s horror, but I’m sure my great-grandmother is smiling on us. (link)

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on November 27, 2007, in Fun Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

