WIP: 1940s Playsuit

So I have this rolly bin in my office/workroom and in it was a bunch of started or cut out sewing projects from, uh, when we lived in our apartment. So, pre-1999. Found this outfit in there, cut out but still attached to the pattern. I remember starting it, actually. One piece of the bra top had the darts sewn in, but that’s it. Funny, because it was actually a really easy project. At first. I finished it in about 1 hour a day for 5 days. (That’s 1 hour a day in Mommy Time. Which means constant interruptions.) At first.

Playsuit from the 40s

Then I tried it on. Holy smokes, the jacket and overskirt are HUGE. I’m going to remove the pockets on the skirt and take in all the seams, then re-attach the pockets (so they’re even this time, lol). I’m also going to try adding a seam in the middle back, removing about three inches, and seeing if I can somehow adjust the front of the jacket so the buttonholes are in a better position/centered. They are off center in a lame-ass attempt to pull the jacket tight enough.

Too big. Baaah.

It’s fun, though. I hope I can fix it. Here’s the pattern.

Pattern

Another project for the Use What You Have craftalong at Craftster.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on May 11, 2007, in Clothing, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

