Knit Mittens

Well, for the time being, pretend that the knit mittens progress bar to the right instead says 75% complete.

I did complete them, but they were disappointing during their first wearing today. They kept sliding down my hands, making it hard to do anything with my hands. They are just too wide at the wrist. I know what I would do differently if I were to make them again, but I’m not about to start all over.

So…my first attempt to correct the problem involved removing 6 extraneous rows between the base of the thumb and the top of the ribbing. Helped some, but not enough. So I think my next step is to cut out/remove the side seam up to the base of the fingers, then re-stitch it, bringing it in several stitches as I near the wrist. This will make it tighter at the wrist and, hopefully, keep it on my hands.

Of course, a smart person would have discovered this problem before knitting the second mitten but, well, it’s hard to really test out the fit of a single mitten.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 4, 2007, in Knitting, Works in Progress. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

