All About… repairing bumGenius pocket diapers

bumGenius diapers are easily the diaper brand I repair the most. Mostly pocket diapers and all in one diapers, sometimes fitteds. Typically, the original hook and loop tape has worn out and users either want it replaced with better quality hook and loop, or with snaps. In addition, about half the diapers I repair also require new elastic.

bumGenius that needs repair

Because I happen to be working on three rather large repair orders of bumGenius pockets this week, I thought I’d do a quick post about the ins and outs of repairing these diapers.

First, I have recently decided to stop accepting certain types of pocket diapers for certain types of repairs. I cannot (and am unmotivated to) keep up with what the different versions of bumGenius diapers are. One version features three different seams across the front seam:

bumGenius diaper waiting to be repaired

Contrast that with another version, with just one seam across the front:

repaired bumGenius diaper

I will no longer be replacing the landing strip of the three-seam type. I will be happy to convert that version to snaps, but replacing the landing strip with new loop is all kinds of trouble. In order to pay myself fairly for my time and effort, I’d have to charge you nearly what the diaper cost new.

Fit of repaired diapers.
Your repaired diapers probably won’t fit exactly the same as new, but that probably also isn’t as important as it might seem. First off, your kid is not the same size and shape as they were when the diapers were new. But in reality, I have no way to determine exactly how the diapers fit when new. I use different elastic, with a different stretch. If converting to snaps, that is of course going to fit a bit different.

Wear of old diapers.
In my experience with bumGenius diapers, they usually have hidden damage that is not immediately noticeable. This particularly is noticeable after the old tabs have been removed. The stretchy fabric that holds the tabs actually develops small tears where the thread holds the hook and loop tape in place. These tears are hidden under the tab, and largely held stable by the threads and the tape. Once the threads and tape are removed, they become much more noticeable.

you can see this fairly typical wear pattern

There’s not a whole lot I can do about these small tears. In my experience, based on what I hear back from customers, they don’t tend to grow very fast, if at all. I would advice that users take care when opening the snaps to be sure not to tear them any further.

Affect on one-size fitting
Surprisingly, this is a question I get fairly frequently. “How will this affect the one-size aspect of the diapers?” It won’t the “one size” designation comes from the snap-down rise, which is unaffected by the repair or conversion.

Recommended snap placement
If you choose to mark placement of your snaps yourself, you may decide on any snap placement that suits your fancy. I generally recommend two rows about an inch and a half apart, with the snaps in each row spaced either 1 inch or 1.5 inches apart. You’ll need to mark two snaps on the tabs to correspond with the two rows of snaps on the front.

If you choose to have me decide where to put the snaps, I will put in two rows of snaps, 1.5 inches apart, with the snaps in each row 1 inch apart. I will put two snaps on each tab.

Sloppy snap placement
If you choose to mark snaps, I will place snaps where you place marks. Sloppy marks mean sloppy snaps. I strongly recommend using a ruler to keep your lines straight and even and the marks evenly spaced. If you wish to remove the old hook and loop tape yourself to save money, but prefer me to mark the snaps for you to make sure they’re straight, I’m happy to do that.

Affect on function
A diaper repair should not affect the diaper’s function or waterproofness. The only exception is the fact that those holes are NOT going away. The needle holes from where the original hook and loop were sewn on will ALWAYS be there. It stands to reason that this might make them prone to wicking or seepage, but although I think that this is likely, I’ve not heard from a single customer who has experienced this. As I often say, that doesn’t mean nobody has – just nobody’s told me about it.

And some pictures for you.

here’s an “after” on a diaper that had the tabs, landing strip, and elastic replaced.

repaired bumGenius diaper

Here’s an “after” on a diaper that was converted to snaps. In this case, the diaper’s owner had me remove the old hook and loop and mark the placement of the snaps myself. You can see how much the diaper has faded with use – the strips where the old hook and loop were are much darker.

bumGenius diaper converted to snaps

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in All About, Services. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. i borrowed some BG’s and I have to say they vere not worth the $$> Glad I never bought any.

  2. I bought some pocket diapers, pre-owned but not used. They are off brands but look like fuzzibunz. After 2 months of use some of the water liner is separating from the outer fabric and tearing in the wash, so now they leak. Have you ever heard of this happening and is it repairable?

    • Yes, it is called delaminating. It was a problem with fuzzibunz for a while, and is caused by inferior lamination or by some sort of problem during the lamination process. It is not fixable, but diapers can often continue to be used without any problems as long as the laminate stays intact. Obviously, that hasn’t been the case with you, which stinks.

  3. How much do you charge to replace elastic and velcro?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,485 other followers

