Are you visiting Wallypop because you saw a blog or message board post about our wipes?

Welcome! Many of the blog posts we’ve read in the last few days about our Family Wipes (which are actually not a new product – they’ve been available for over 4 years) have been curious about the idea of family wipes. Comments have been varied – from curiousity to support to derision. One guy called to tell me to “shove it up my a**.” That was touching, really. But, really, reusable wipes are NOT for everyone. That’s true. If they’re not something you want to use, then don’t. That’s the beauty of America. Nobody’s forcing you into it. And, though some commentors have said that they’ll be making this mandatory very soon, well, I seriously doubt it. There are many reasons that people use reusable wipes.

  • They prefer to wipe with a moist cloth and don’t like the chemicals and expense inherent in commercial moist cloths.
  • They like getting their hineys completely clean.
  • They use them on their kids because it makes cleaning easier (I’m talking pre-able-to-wipe-their-own-bottoms kids).
  • They need something for after-bidet drying.
  • They want to save money and not buying TP (expensive when you think about it) saves just a bit more.
  • They don’t want to waste resources like trees.

There seem to be a few myths sticking around out there and I thought I’d address some of them here.

  1. Extreme Environmentalists like Wallypop are insane. Using family wipes will NOT save the environment. That’s true. I don’t think they will save the environment, if indeed the environment needs to be saved. Would recycled TP be a better choice environmentally? I don’t know, maybe. Is it expensive? Yes. I hear it’s not very soft, either. . PS, we’re not environmentalists. Really.
    .
  2. Reusable toilet wipes use resources like water, not to mention detergent and bleach. yes and no. True, they need to be washed. Many families who use cloth wipes already have kids in cloth diapers, and so the wipes just get washed with the diapers, and do not represent an extra load of laundry.
    .
  3. They’re disgusting and unsanitary. Not true, but if the idea grosses you out, then obviously it’s not a product for you.
    .
  4. Cloth diapers and wipes for babies, toddlers, and preschoolers is fine, but cloth wipes for adults is gross because adult poop is so much grosser than kid poop. News flash: Once they’re eating solid foods, kid poop is the same as adult poop. There’s no difference.
    .
  5. I could see that for Pee but not for Poop. I would say that the VAST majority of family wipe users use them just for pee.
    .
  6. They probably stain something awful and stink, too. Nope, on either account. Actually, our most stained wipes are from the baby. (yes, I know the difference – she has different fabric on hers – and hers are all stained that telltale yellow of a breastfed baby.) And they don’t stink. I mean, I guess I don’t know how much poop the rest of the world smears on their bum when using the toilet, maybe our family is genetically gifted with having excrement that tends to follow gravity straight down into the toilet… does everyone else’s waste wander around their cheeks a bit before dropping?? Our wipes, when used for poop, don’t generally have a whole lot of poop on them. They are tossed into a step-lid garbage can. No odor. The diapers smell worse, and you can only smell THOSE when you have the lid open.
    .
  7. People who use cloth wipes should not shake hands with anyone else. This one, I’ll admit, has me mystified. The assumption must be that everyone who uses paper to wipe washes their hands, and everyone who uses cloth does not? Have you ever used a public restroom and noticed the high numbers of people who do not wash afterwards? NONE of those people just used cloth. I would guess that hand-washing rates are roughly the same between cloth and paper users.
    .
  8. I would never wipe my butt with something that had bunnies on it. Yes, those are meant for kids, which is why it’s called the Juvenile variety pack.
    .
  9. Do they have to train their guests on how to wipe with this stuff? No. To my knowledge, most people have both cloth wipes and the regular stuff in their bathrooms.

So I hope that answers some questions, some myths. Welcome to Wallypop. Take a look around – we offer a LOT more than just bum wipes!

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on February 28, 2009, in Products. Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. Thanks for addressing the myths- It made me smile.

  2. Oh Sarah this was so entertaining, thanks!

  3. OMG, Sarah, i was laughing! Even my husband (who refuses to use our homemade cloth wipes) was laughing at the idiocy of a person who calls you to tell you to shove it up your ***. Sorry you have to deal with this!
    I’ve been telling everyone I know how much I love your stuff and directing them to your website to get their own.

  4. I’m genetically engineered – my poop goes straight down!!!

  5. This may come off the wrong way, but I have to say how incredibly uninformed a person must be to even consider the idea that reusable toilet “wipes” could ever have an impact on the planet today. I admit, had this society adopted an intuitive renewable standard of living prior to the surge in world population circa 1820 then perhaps a way of life as we know it today could have included a realistic existance of using only what is needed. The world population is simply out of control, and thus we as a society should focus on how to control the rate at which we populate and less attention or energy on how we wipe our bottom line.

  6. Oh you wonderful tree-huggers….what’s next bottling your feces and storing it to prevent from more CO2 getting out? You guys are hilarious. Thanks for the laugh!!!

  7. Wow, Joe, thanks for actually reading any of the content here! Your post reminds me of research that is ongoing into how to change livestock diets to make them fart less, or the tax they’re considering on livestock gas. In a bit LESS odd news… there are farmers who use their livestock waste to produce energy to run their farm… THAT is actually pretty cool. Saw it on Dirty Jobs, I think.

  8. If we are growing trees to harvest, then replanting more trees in their place after they are harvested, wouldn’t that sequester more carbon out of the atmosphere than simply recyling (which sequesters none)?

    It seems to me that as long as we are not burning the wood products or allowing them somehow to put the CO2 back into the atmosphere, this would be the way to go.

    I’m not up on the decomposing process of TP in the sewer or septic systems and how that affects the atmosphere, so if someone is, please describe what happens.

  9. hm, zorro, I do not know. I have several environmental scientists who are customers… maybe they’ll have thoughts?

    It seems to me that not cutting down a tree at all is better than cutting/replacing, since it would stand to reason that bigger trees use more CO2 than small trees, but I really have no idea.

    this is an interesting read: http://www.epa.gov/sequestration/faq.html

    seems to say that my thought from above is wrong? “Changes in forest management (e.g., lengthening the harvest-regeneration cycle) generally result in less carbon sequestration on a per acre basis”

    ??

  10. As usual the bleedin heart liberal tree hugger crowd plays “feel good” while ignoring the facts ….

    Cloth diapers are overall worse for the environment – have a higher overall environmental impact – as shown by several studies, including by the UK Dept of Environment Food and Rural Affairs – who found reusable diapers had a higher carbon foot print – a worse environmental impact – even if extreme measures were used in washing them (cold water, no dryers ever used, reuse same diaers for years etc)

    And if you throw them in the wash – use hot water as most will do for a messy diaper, and tumble dry … the carbon footprint – the environmental impact – skyrockets

    “The report found that while disposable nappies used over 2½ years would have a global warming , impact of 550kg of CO2 reusable nappies produced 570kg of CO2 on average. But if parents used tumble dryers and washed the reusable nappies at 90C, the impact could spiral to . 993kg of CO2 A Defra spokesman said the government was shelving plans for future research on reusable nappies”

  11. And disposables do aid carbon sequestration …. the trees are harvested for the papaer used, the diaper is then collected and most sually buried in a landfill, or burned in a waste to power plant – creating energy … (most pants have ioncreasingly complex carbon scrubbers) thus sequestering the CO2

    And then a NEW tree is planted to repeat the process all over

    And it shows an equal lack of knowledge to say an old tree is cut down for disposable diapers and a young tree replaces it … diapers are nmade from paper products that come out of carefully managed new growth forests planted and managed for exactly that purpose – they do not cut down old growth trees to make disposable diapers

  12. Generally speaking, I don’t believe in feeding trolls, but I wanted to be sure to post a link (again) to the article I wrote about that UK study.

    http://naturaldsm.wordpress.com/2008/10/22/cloth-diapers/

    I particularly like how the Brits call hanging laundry and reusing the same dipes for years “extreme,” lol.

    To date, there has been no well-performed study that compares the life cycle of a cloth vs a disposable. I’m not sure why. Well, take a look at who funds research (usually large companies, and no cloth diaper company has anywhere near the scratch as Huggies and the like).

    I will say, I hope to God that nobody is burning disposable diapers for energy… holy toledo, you really SHOULD NOT burn plastic.

  13. Wow, kinkman, so many errors in one short paragraph!

    And disposables do aid carbon sequestration …. the trees are harvested for the papaer used, the diaper is then collected and most sually buried in a landfill, or burned in a waste to power plant – creating energy … (most pants have ioncreasingly complex carbon scrubbers) thus sequestering the CO2

    Harvesting trees for any use does not aid in carbon sequestration. Cutting down a tree from a sustainably managed forest does less harm than cutting old-growth trees, but it is still not carbon-neutral. Reducing the demand for paper products we don’t need is still a good thing.

    You also seem unaware that there are benefits to reducing the amount of trash we put in landfills. In the case of disposable diapers, some of that trash is untreated sewage that can contaminate groundwater.

    Burning disposable diapers as waste would be really bad, as Sarah said. And no, power plants do not have “ioncreasingly [sic] complex carbon scrubbers.” Stack scrubbers from power plants remove some contaminants, but not a significant amount of carbon. That’s why the coal industry keeps begging for subsidies to support so-called “clean coal” research–they are trying to convince us that technology to sequester all that carbon is just around the corner. In reality, power plant stack scrubbers do not remove carbon, and carbon sequestration on the scale you would need to make a power plant carbon-neutral is not ever likely to be economically feasible.

    By the way, the process of manufacturing disposable diapers consumes crude oil–another way disposables add to greenhouse-gas emissions.

  14. But kinkman, thanks for giving this lefty my laugh for the day–Sarah a bleeding heart liberal? Not on your life.

  15. I love you Laurie B!!!!!!!

  16. You silly mortals and your need to defecate.

  17. That just made me laugh so much. People can be so ignorant. I used cloth wipes on my baby and I’ll tell ya, sometimes me b/c the moistness really does a better job cleaning.

  18. Wow – there must be some really thin people responding here because they have gotten a ton of exercise jumping to conclusions!! I am SOOOOOO not a bleeding heart liberal nor am I a tree hugger. I am just looking for a way to save money and not put so much in my septic tank. I am in Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University now and for the first time am really looking at what I spend and trying his philosophy of living like nobody else now so that later I can live like nobody else! Yes, that means that we have to give up that mentality of “I want it all and I want it now.”. One way to do that is by cutting our household spending. Toilet paper is just one way to do that. I do laundry anyway, so what’s a few more pieces of cloth going to add to it? Very little. I have a hard time believing studies done by disposable diaper and toilet paper companies are really objective. Let’s see, they cut down a tree, transport it to a factory, make it into TP & diapers, package it, transport it to a warehouse, then to a store, then to a home, then to the landfill. Think of all the gas, exhaust, fumes, electricity, plastic packaging, chemicals to bleach and color and who knows what else goes into that trip from the earth to the home then back to the landfill. I am so sorry but I just don’t buy that washing and drying a piece of fabric can equal that much. Personally, I am considering just cutting up some old t-shirts instead of buying specific cloths for wipes. Want to really freak out the nay-sayers….tell them about Mamma cloths!!!!!!!!!! LOL LOL LOL Oh my stomach hurts from laughing just thinking about that one!! How do they think their great grand parents lived? Maybe even their grandparents!!

  19. Holy Cow! I was just coming back to congratulate Sarah on all of the free publicity, and WOW! There are some really angry people out there. Angry for no reason, from what I can see. Who cares if I use cloth wipes for myself or my family? Who cares if I use cloth diapers? And I’d really like to know how a piece of plastic stuffed with silica and cotton (or paper?) sitting in a landfill for 200 years is really going to be better for the environment than my cloth diapers, which I have always washed in cold water and line dried?

    well, anyway, CONRATS on all of the free publicity, Sarah! Way to go!

  20. p.s. I love my Mama Cloth!

  21. I’ve been using family wipes daily for 3-4 yrs, and before saying anything about them, just try them yourself. If you don’t like them, then forget about it!

    I’ve only used them “dry” for pee, and then I put it into an open basket where they air out with ZERO smell (the “wet” bag the owner referred to is not actually wet, but it can be for wet or semi-wet items). Most people’s underwear has some pee on it by the time it makes its way to the washing machine. So whenever I’m washing a hot load, I toss the wipes in too. I know I’ve saved lots of money on toilet paper. I assume it helps our septic tank some also, to have a bit less TP.

    When my friends see how plush they are, that their fingers don’t get wet when using it, and that they can fold it over to use again for complete dryness, then they like it! We simply do what makes sense to us. If it doesn’t make sense for you, then don’t do it.

  22. I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…

  23. Bitsinferee,
    You’re not the only one in this world even though it feels like it at 1:24 in the morning. Please don’t contemplate suicide.

  24. They’re not called “environmentalist wackos” for nothing.

    A totall degrading and disgusting idea.

    • Ask your grandparents what they used. Was the Sears catalog totally degrading? Was newsprint disgusting? Even corncobs were used to wipe with. I’d rather use this plush cloth any day, as I laugh all the way to the bank! Your money is going down the toilet.

  25. I want to listen good music!

  26. I can’t believe I never thought of this before. I have just been researching cloth pads and stumbled across your site. Its so basic and yet it never crossed my mine before… And the amount of TP I feel I waste crosses my mind all the time. I feel like a goof but I am happy to figure it out. I think its a wonderful and simple idea. Thanks

  27. Hey been looking at this site for ages now and decided i would sign up and spread the word!

    I’m bob :)

    (please move this if its in the wrong place and bare with me, I’m new!)

  28. Just a reminder to please treat each other kindly andavoid swearing. This is a family friendly blog and comments containing bad language or name calling will be deleted. Disagreeing is ok. Being disagreeable is not. And typically namecalling indicates that you have no better argument.

  29. Wazzup! Been lurking for a while and decided to sign up and post.

    Umm so like does anyone know how to unblock myspace at school?

  30. I didn’t know other families used these actually…

    My own family has used something like this for years and one reason I began to use them myself (and for my family) is because I was trying to avoid the – umm – blush worthy laundry I was seeing that I assumed was evidence of less than scrupulous personal hygiene…

    To me – it meant that they were not being as tidy as they could have been and after suggesting the use of moist wipes from the store and having them well received and hearing comments that everyone felt so much fresher after using them… I decided that a less expensive alternative would be just as welcome if it were to be made convenient and user-friendly (and found that it was!)

    For personal comfort and cost savings they really are a good thing.

    I’m glad to see that others are using them.

    M.L.

  31. That’s the main reason I use them, too, M.L. They’re just better for cleaning. I’m actually surprised at how many people prefer to use their TP wet, or who use the disposable moist cloths… the cloth ones are a much cheaper alternative!

  32. *small laugh*

    Well – you put small boys in a bathroom with wet TP and you get paper mache eventually…

    It wasn’t pretty.

    These work much better…

    M.L.

  33. Several years ago I visited a historical home (circa 1848) in Kingston, Ontario—the home of our first Prime Minister, Sir John A . Macdonald.
    In the bathroom of this weathly family’s home was a basket full of squares of felt that were used as toilet paper. A slop bucket with a cover was provided for the used ones. They would apparently be washed and boiled — by the maid of course.

    What we think as terrible was once very acceptable by the rich!

  34. http://beztelok.info/
    Институт на юго западной

  35. Hello hello!

    Lovely, lovely site. Great dialogue. Wonderful wit. Thank you for being online. :)

    First let me say that my initial exposure to reusable cloth anything was Lunapads; I liked them so much for my monthly use that I tried their postpartum cloths and loved it. Now I diaper my baby in cloth. This has become a trend, as you can see…

    Recently I was doing the numbers on what I could save by replacing my paper towels and table napkins with something cloth and washable. I already use old rags to clean with, from dusting to mopping. The holdouts in my house are the paper towels, the napkins, and the toilet paper. And I, like many others, consider toilet paper to be just one of those things you have to have. It’s part of life, because it goes hand in, um, wipe, with the morning sit.

    I did see cloth wipes for that once before, but I forget where. I remember thinking, Hm… and that was the end of it.

    Now I have wash cycles dedicated to removing the evidence from a bunch of cloth diapers.

    So here I am, looking at the budget, and once again thinking, “Hm…”

    Consider yourself bookmarked. :)
    Cheers,
    Rachel

  36. Hi im fresh here. I stumbled upon this chat board I have found It positively useful and its helped me out a lot. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its helped me.

    Thank You, See You Later

  37. I spend way too much on TP. It’s money wasted. I am going to buy these wipes and use them for poo both dry and wet. I will stil use TP for the first wipe though. I am spending 45.00 a month on TP for two adults. I have a washing machine and a dryer and very, very hot water add some detergent and bleach and it’s clean again. We have tried the flushable wet wipes and they are nasty and often too wet or cause problems due to perfume and chemicals. This does sound gross at first but after you think about it a little it would be cheaper for some, more healthy for some with sensitive areas.

  38. I love the humor–thanks :) Been wanting to use family wipes and glad to know most people start with using them just for peeing!

  39. Wow, I am in dismay over how rude and small minded people are. People, if you don’t like this, don’t use it and leave the website. And then think of what you plan to do when disasters happen and there is no store to buy TP. Some people’s way of thinking is comical.

    -Caryl

  40. The bowstring truss is neither the most common type of truss nor the type most likely to kill firefighters. Trusses of any age or design have common characteristics: http://buildbuild.hostoi.com
    they use the least amount of material to achieve the greatest strength for long spansthey have a smaller cross-section and considerably less mass than a solid beam of the same strength, resulting in less inherent fire resistance and early failure in firesfailure of a single connection can cause the failure of the entire trussfailure of either the top chord or bottom chord can cause the failure of the entire truss

  41. I like this site its a master peace ! Glad I observed this on google .

  42. I bought your wipes in 2008 when I was a wholesale customer. Yes, there was a baby in the house but I actually stocked my bathrooms with wipes and wet bags. It’s now 2013, I am still using those wipes. No stench. No stains. No extra trouble. Five years have passed and I still have those wipes and they’re holding up fine.

    To all the naysayers, I say either try them or walk away silently, but talking about something which you know nothing about is not a reflection on anyone or anything other than yourself. And it’s not a pretty reflection.

  43. I just heard about commercial reusable bathroom wipes a couple of days ago. I think they are a great idea. I already use them myself, but I won’t tell my family as I know very well I would face untold derision! Some people are just close-minded about a lot of reasonable solutions to environmental (and septic tank) overload. Thanks for the smiles, chuckles, and belly laughs. I like you. I really like you. I will be “following” you. LOL!

  1. Pingback: Eco-Rant» Blog Archive » Resolve to Eliminate Disposables, Including TP!

  2. Pingback: Resolve to Eliminate Disposables, Including TP! « Experiments in Low Impact Living

  3. Pingback: Cloth Diaper Blog. The All In One Cloth Diaper Resource. | Green to the Extreme?

  4. Pingback: wipies «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,402 other followers

