What does a newborn cloth diaper stash look like?

Well, I can’t speak for everyone in the world. I’m sure there as many different make-ups of CD stashes as there are parents. However, I’m happy to show you what my newborn stash looks like.

Please note, all pictures are clickable for a closeup.

My stash is all size smalls. My personal feelings about newborn sizes are that, even if they are needed, a baby’s not likely to be in them for long. If I happen to get a small baby this time around, we’ll just use prefolds for a while.

Seven wool wraps:
wool diaper covers wool diaper covers

The one on the left is made from an old sweater, and bound with FOE. The Six on the right are made from new wool. Bottom four are Jersey, the top two are crepe. I personally love wool. Not pictured are the four wool soakers and longies I’ve knitted, and I plan to knit several more. I also have three or four longies and shorties made from recycled sweaters. Wool is so great. Naturally antibacterial, nearly bulletproof, breatheable, all natural. Love, love, love.

Six fleece covers:
Batman fleece cover Fleece cover, bound in elastic 5 fleece covers, regular

One with Batman, one bound with FOE, and four just plain.

Six Basic Covers:
Six basic covers

The two in the lower right are Minkee over PUL. The Bears is cotton over PUL. The other three are just one layer of PUL.

Is this an overload of covers? Probably. But I know from personal experience that I tend to go through covers faster than your average person. I don’t know why. I just do.

Six Pocket Diapers:
Six pocket diapers

All made from various laminated fabrics (including the black baby corduroy), and with suedecloth inners. I like suede over microfleece because it’s thinner while still getting the job done.

Three AIOs:
Three AIOs

I don’t really like AIOs, but they do have their place. The skulls are painted on with freezer paper stencil, and the other two are Minkee over PUL.

18 fitted diapers:
16 fitted diapers

Four all-hemp. Twelve Flannel and Sherpa. All with edge-sewn soakers for faster drying. My favorites are the Elvis flannel (the green and blue), Wally prefers Captain Hook (yellow). The baby plaids have been hanging around in my inventory for about four years now, and while I don’t love them personally, I was eager to finally free them from my inventory.

Two of these which are made from the Rita’s Rump one-size pocket fitted pattern.
Diapers

I will also be making myself some more fitteds and who knows what else from the selection of bamboo fabrics that just arrived today.

Not pictured:

I have about six diapers I made for Wally from this pattern. I love it, but I think I’ll like the Rita’s Rump one better, if you’re looking for a good one-size fitted diaper pattern.

I also have about three or four Bummi Super Whisper Wraps, and two size small Fuzzi Bunz that I hung on to.

And, to round out the stash, about two dozen infant-size prefolds.

That’s my newborn stash. Hope that was helpful.

About sarahtar

Our Family lives in central Iowa. We are Christians, conservatives, and crunchy granola heads. We love the outdoors, photography, and lindy hop. Turn ons are people who are polite, honesty, and really good root beer. Turn offs are mean people and people who make my life more difficult.

Posted on July 15, 2008, in Cloth Diapering, Personal. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sorry if I’m way behind or missed something… but are you now doing Minkee over PUL as a custom or something? I love Minkee!! :) If you are I will definetly have to order some when you are done with vacation.

  2. Hm, well, I could be talked into it. But, really, I make stuff for myself that I don’t typically make for the general public. When I’m sewing for me, for fun, I’m of course willing to experiment, buy small quantities of supplies at full retail, adjust my patterns, and make all kinds of crazy changes that I’d never be willing to do on a large scale.

    I didn’t buy much Minkee, just enough for me, I thought, but as it turns out, I have more here than I really know what to do with. It was purchased full retail, so that’ll impact the price of any diapers I sell that are made from it.

  3. Sarah, your diaper stash looks wonderful! I have many more newborn sized diapers this time around and am very excited to use them, funny though cause this time I seem to have lots of pinks and just found out we’re due for another boy, oh well I’m not one to care about that stuff anyways.

    I love the Elvis diapers, and I seem to have lots of fitted’s this time, even though I’m not a huge fan just because they seem to take SO long to dry after being peed in once. What seems to be the advantage of the fitted? Just ease of use? They sure are cute if nothing else!

  4. That’s why I prefer fitteds with edge-sewn soakers. They take less time to dry than my prefolds do.

    I like prefolds and fitteds with separate covers, because I like two-piece systems. Fitteds do a better job of containing runny poop than prefolds do, and can be a bit less bulky. Also faster/easier to put on.

  5. They look fantastic :) I’m in the middle of sewing my own newborn Nappy (I’m aussie) stash – made up mostly of prefolds and covers!
    You’ve put an awesome effort in! What a lucky baby you’re going to have!

  6. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I
    have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any
    case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  1. Pingback: Newborn Cloth Diaper Stash « Natural Living Des Moines

  2. Pingback: What do I need to start cloth diapering? | Wallypoppers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,540 other followers

